The Beekeeper’s Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

The Beekeeper’s Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America, by Hannah Nordhaus

Synopsis: Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America’s foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee’s Oranges, Nordhaus’s stunning exposé illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

Published: May 2011 | ISBN: 978-0061873256

Author’s Homepage: http://www.hannahnordhaus.com
Author’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/hannahnordhaus

Publishers Weekly Book Review
Kirkus Reviews Book Review
Star Tribune Book Review
Seattle PI Book Review

Amazon Associates (SBAD gets a % of sales from books sold via these links, to help us do more work for science books)

Paperback Edition: The Beekeeper’s Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America
Kindle Edition: The Beekeeper’s Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America
Audio CD Edition: The Beekeeper’s Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

Advertisements

Categories: Agriculture, Animals, Biology, Insects

Tagged as: