100 Diagrams That Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod

100-diagrams-that-changed-the-world
By Scott Christianson

Synopsis: A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.

Published: October 2012 | ISBN-13: 978-0452298774

Author’s Homepage: http://scottchristianson.org

Eagereyes Book Review
Firefly’s Book Blog Book Review
Brain Pickings Book Review
WSJ Book Slideshow

[Image Credit: http://37.media.tumblr.com/aecd47a6e4aae3e667381360fb0cb5de/tumblr_mthyxedy1E1r8tkaro10_1280.jpg ]

Advertisements