I Am, I Am, I Am: A Memoir: Seventeen brushes with death

I Am, I Am, I Am: A Memoir: Seventeen brushes with death, by Maggie O’Farrell

Synopsis: An extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain’s best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.

We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.

I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O’Farrell’s astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter–for whom this book was written–from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life’s myriad dangers.

Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O’Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.

Published: August 2017 | ISBN: 978-1472240743

Author’s Homepage: http://www.maggieofarrell.com

The Guardian Book Review
The Times Book Review
The Independent Book Review
The Seattle PI Book Review

Amazon Associates (SBAD gets a % of sales from books sold via these links, to help us do more work for science books)

Hardcover Edition: I am, I am, I am: Seventeen Brushes with Death
Kindle Edition: I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Audible Edition: I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

Advertisements

Categories: Memoir, Scientists

Tagged as:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.